DUI and DWI Laws in Maryland and DC
Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a serious offense,
and a criminal conviction can have serious consequences for your life.
If you have been charged with a
DUI or DWI offense in the Maryland or D.C. area, contact the seasoned legal team at The Law
Office of Michael S. Rothman. We fight hard to uphold the constitutional
rights of our clients, and our attorney's DWI certification gives
him the in-depth training he needs to challenge DWI/DUI arrests. When
you need a criminal defense attorney to protect your rights, call 301-251-9660
for a free consultation.
What You Need to Know About DUI VS DWI
- In Maryland, there are two possible charges for drunk driving: DUI, which
stands for driving under the influence; and DWI, which stands for driving
while impaired. The difference lies in the degree to which a driver is
- If a driver is determined to have a blood alcohol content level of .07
percent, he or she may be charged with a DWI offense. Having a blood alcohol
content level of .08 percent or higher can result in a DUI offense. However,
the standards are different for drivers of commercial vehicles; they can
be charged with a DWI for a blood alcohol content level of .04 to .07
percent, and with a DUI for a level of .07 percent or higher. A person
in Maryland can be charged with a DUI and a DWI simultaneously, but can
only be convicted of a single offense.
- In Washington D.C., you can be charged with a DUI for having a blood alcohol
content of .08 or higher, and .04 or higher if you are a driver of a commercial vehicle.
- There is a third drunk driving offense in Washington D.C. known as OWI,
which stands for operating while impaired. You can be charged with this
offense if you are found to have driven a vehicle "while impaired"
by alcohol in any way, even if your blood alcohol content is lower than
the legal limit.
- Both Maryland and Washington D.C. have zero tolerance policies for drivers
under 21. If you are under 21, you can be charged with a drunk driving
offense for having any amount of alcohol in your system.
Penalties for DUI and DWI
If you are convicted of either a DUI or a DWI in Maryland, you may face
penalties such as a fine of $500-$1,000, suspension of your driving privileges
for up to one year, and anywhere from 60 days to one year in jail. Penalties
for a DUI or a DWI will increase depending on how many prior convictions
are on your record.