Repeat offenders may be sentenced to much harsher penalties than someone
who has never been convicted of a crime before. If you’ve been arrested for
drunk driving, you need to contact a law firm in Rockville right away. An attorney can
review your case to determine if you have a good chance of obtaining an
acquittal or if it may be in your best interests to negotiate a plea deal.
Driver’s License Suspension
After a second DUI conviction, you can expect your driver’s license
to be suspended for one year. For a third DUI conviction, Maryland law
provides for license revocation for up to 18 months. It’s a good
idea to consult your attorney to learn how to stay in compliance after
receiving a notice of suspension. You will be required to immediately return your most recent driver’s
license to a Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) branch office. If you
lost your driver’s
license, your attorney can help you prepare a certified statement to explain
Ignition Interlock Device Installation
After the one-year suspension is over, you will receive a notice of restriction.
This notice will inform you that you must maintain an ignition interlock
device on your vehicle and any vehicles you co-own for one year. You must
have the device installed by an authorized Ignition Interlock Service
Provider. Then, you’ll need to obtain a restricted driver’s
license. You are responsible for paying the fees associated with the ignition
Alcohol Abuse Assessment
If you’re convicted of drunk driving for the second time, the judge
may require that you undergo an alcohol abuse evaluation and successfully
complete a treatment program. The assessment will categorize you as a
“social drinker” or a “problem drinker.” Maryland
has different programs for each category.
Severe financial penalties are likely to accompany your second DUI conviction.
The judge may order you to pay a fine of up to $2,000. If it’s your
third DUI conviction, expect a fine of up to $3,000.
For a second DUI conviction, you will be required to serve a minimum of
five days behind bars. The judge could sentence you to up to two years
in prison. For a third DUI conviction, you could be sentenced to up to
three years behind bars.