Talk to a DWI/DUI attorney in the Maryland and D.C. areas if you have been
charged with drunk driving. Your
DUI lawyer can help you understand the nature of the specific charges against you.
He or she can also answer any questions you may have regarding the potential
penalties you may face upon conviction. Your criminal defense lawyer can
advise you that you can expect to face administrative penalties, incarceration,
Chemical Test Refusal Penalties
Maryland DUI law includes a provision for implied consent. This means that
Maryland drivers are presumed to have given their consent for a chemical
test if they're driving on roadways within the state. Your criminal
defense attorney would likely recommend that you take the test when asked
by a police officer, since refusal to do so results in automatic penalties.
Your driver's license can be automatically revoked. Additionally,
if you're convicted of DUI and you refused the test, you can expect
to pay up to $500 in additional fines. You'll also be
required to serve a two-month jail sentence
Even if you did not refuse the chemical test, a DUI conviction will result
in administrative penalties. First-time DUI offenders in Maryland will
have their license revoked for six months and they will receive 12 points on their
license. First-time DWI offenders will have their licenses suspended for
60 days and they will receive eight points on their license.
As your DUI lawyer can inform you, Maryland law deals with drunk driving
very harshly. If you've been convicted of your first DUI offense,
you could be facing up to a year behind bars. A first conviction of a
DWI offense could result in up to 60 days in jail.
Having a drunk driving conviction on your record is costly. The court can
order you to pay up to $1,000 in fines for your first DUI conviction.
You could be required to pay up to $500 for your first DWI conviction.
Additionally, you'll likely be dealing with other expenses, such as
legal fees and higher auto insurance premiums, along with the cost of
transportation while your driver's license is suspended or revoked.